Chronicle I: The Heartbreak Cure and Dog Poo

Today was a bad day. My heart is broken and I stepped in dog poo. Out of all days to step in dog poo, why did I have to step in it today? Why couldn’t I step in dog poo on a good day? At least then I could laugh it off because I’d have so many amazing things going on in my life that stepping in dog poo would just be a laughing matter. But unfortunately that is not the case. First of all, the only reason I even realized that I stepped in dog poo was because my cousin texted me saying. “Check the bottom of your shoes, I think you stepped in Simba’s shit.” Lo and behold, the bottom of my shoes were covered in the shitty mess. I had to clean the dog poo off of the driving pedal, my floor, and my ballet flats. Yeah, I wasn’t even wearing sturdy shoes, I was wearing ballet flats for Pete’s sake.

Now, I’m not going to get into the heartbreak part of my day, because I already wasted enough of my sweet, sweet time whining about my heart in the last two posts (lucky you, not only do you get to read about a broken heart, but you also get to read about dog poo). Any way, as bothered as I was by the dog poo, I could never get mad at the dog. Dogs are cute, innocent, and loyal, so if they get shit on your shoes every so often it’s not a major deal when you look at the big picture. With that said, wanna know what my heart break cures are?

  1. Looking at pictures of small animals- It makes me feel better knowing that despite my heart being broken, there’s still cute, fluffy, puppies roaming around, just looking for a human (like myself) to cuddle with.
  2. Eating Popcorners- It’s a chip and popcorn in one. There are no words that can adequately describe how incredibly delectable these little triangles of goodness truly are. I can easily finish three large bags of these babies in less than 24 hours. I’m not trying to advertise food as a coping mechanism, I’m just saying that if you’re heart is broken, these are a great temporary fix. Okay, I know that a “temporary fix” isn’t any better than a coping mechanism but. . .oh, whatever.
  3. Listening to “Hurt” by Johnny Cash- It’s not a happy song (hence the title), but it’s a great venting song. Maybe it’s just me, but there’s something about Johnny Cash’s music that is so real. You get a true sense of pain in his voice, and it helps you realize that pain is a universal feeling.
  4. Driving with your windows down while listening to loud music- Just cause it’s fun at any age, and don’t lie, you love it when you’re at a red light and the guy next to you is laughing because you’re singing/dancing like a lunatic.
  5. Blogging- Or just writing in general, but I personally like that a blog is more interactive. I love when people tell me that they are in a similar situation as mine. I know I say this too much, but it’s nice knowing I’m not alone.
  6. Going out- Disclaimer: I am in no way advocating alcohol as a way to cope. With that said, it’s totally O.K. to go out, have a few drinks, dance, and flirt with the really cute bartender. C’mon, your heart is broken, get off of your couch, stop gorging down the Popcorners, and go have fun.



This entry was posted in Heartbreak, Hope, Life, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

